District Map

View SD20 (2001) in Google Maps

More than 850,000 people live in the 20th Senate District which covers much of the San Fernando Valley. Due to redistricting, Senate districts have a unique issue that Assembly and Congressional districts do not have. Of the Senate districts established by the Citizens Redistricting Commission in 2011, only the odd-numbered districts went into effect for the 2012 election cycle. The new even-numbered districts will go into effect for the 2014 election cycle, and the even-numbered districts previously established by the 2001 redistricting will continue to exist until 2014. These unique circumstances create some areas of overlap between the old and new districts (“accelerated areas”) and some areas without coverage (“deferred areas”). For the 2013-14 Regular Session of the Legislature, each accelerated area essentially has two Senators representing the area and each deferred area has none. The Senate Committee on Rules has assigned Senators to provide supplemental constituent services to deferred areas. This is a normal consequence of the redistricting process. The map below shows my district and the deferred and accelerated areas I will be representing through 2014. A brochure with more information on this subject is available.

Senate District 20 map including deferred and accelerated areas

A tool is available to look up who represents you.

A PDF version of this map is available. Additional maps of legislative and congressional districts are also available.